Hello!

Today I thought I’d do a spin on the classic youtube is it worth the hype/products I regret buying type videos! I’ve decided to call it Buy or Bye, so let’s get into it!

Bobbi Brown – Foundation Stick £31

Lately trying out new base products seems to be my new thing, I decided I wanted to try some stick foundations as I’ve always used liquid. Having heard good things about both the Bobbi Brown and the Makeup Forever HD sticks, I decided to go for Bobbi’s purely because I have the liquid version of the HD Foundation and decided to try a new brand.

I’ve tried this product with the Morphe E8 which is a small buffing brush, a sponge, and the Spectrum B01 brush which is my daily foundation brush and I’ve found that with all three ways this product has gone patchy when you blend it out, and can’t seem to get an even coverage with it. Another thing is that you seem to have to use a lot of product and then it still goes patchy once blended. I have tried using different amounts and nothing seems to work. My skin doesn’t usually have visible pores, and I’ve found that this foundation both with and without a pore filling primer seems to settle into pores and makes them very visible. It also makes my skin look quite dry once it’s been on for 20-30 minutes which other foundations don’t.

My skin doesn’t usually have visible pores, and I’ve found that this foundation both with and without a pore filling primer seems to settle into pores and makes them very visible. It also makes my skin look quite dry once it’s been on for 20-30 minutes which other foundations don’t. Formula wise I was expecting it to be much creamier than it is, I find it drags on the skin when applying it to the face.

Overall this product is a Bye, I can’t see myself repurchasing this product and I typically avoid using it. I am definitely going to try out some other stick foundations to try find a more suited formula.

It is available here for anyone wanting to try it out! – here

Charlotte Tilbury – Colour Chameleon Eyeshadow Pencil £19

Charlotte Tilbury is a brand I’ve always heard a lot about but never tried anything from until now. I have recently bought the Colour Chameleon Eyeshadow Pencil in the shade Champagne Diamonds which is labelled as for blue eyes, but it is such a versatile shade for any eye colour. It is a shimmery champagne colour, the formula is so creamy, and it blends very well. I have been using it all over the lid then adding a warm brown into the crease for a quick easily look that looks like you have made effort.

It is very highly pigmented, I draw a line across my lid and blend it around. This product does dry down and it dries slightly darker than when you first apply it but you have a lot of working time before it does so, a swatch on my hand took about 10 minutes to set down fully.

Obviously, £19 is a little bit excessive for an eye pencil, but I’m definitely going to invest in a few more shades as they are such good quality and are very versatile products when working on fashion looks. For me, this product is a definite buy and I’m looking forward to trying more products from Charlotte Tilbury!

It is available here for anyone wanting to try it out! – here

Zoeva –  Rodeo Belle Eyeshadow Palette £18

Zoeva is a brand that I’ve fairly recently started using, firstly buying the brushes for my kit, then my two uni friends getting me two palettes for Christmas. Both palettes I really like, however I’ve previously mentioned the Blush Palette in a post so I thought I’d take about the Rodeo Belle Palette today. As far as the shades, it’s not everyone’s cup of tea as it does contain a lot of colours; however, for someone like me who likes to use different shades from time to time as well as being on a fashion course, so it is a great palette.

In this particular palette, you get ten shades ranging from reds, greens and blues. All are extremely pigmented and they have a very soft formula that is easy to blend! For me, this is a definite Buy, if you aren’t into this sort of shade range they do have other palettes which are likely to be of same quality. My next Zoeva purchase will be the Cocoa Blends palette as I really enjoy the formula of these shadows, and that particular palette has more neutral day-to-day shades.

It is available here for anyone wanting to try it out! – here

Violet Voss – Holy Grail Eyeshadow Palette £43

The highly hyped Holy Grail Palette; overall this palette is great. It has sturdy packaging, a mirror and if you like warm eye looks a perfect shade range. I do love this palette and as a makeup “collector” it’s a buy. However, if you don’t necessarily collect makeup I don’t personally think it’s worth all the hassle of getting hold of. So many brands have similar palettes as far as the shades go, I’ve also found that the formula of certain shadows is off. The shade Wine & Dine in particular for me is awful; when I apply it over another shadow it applies in patches, I find that I have to apply it with another shade such as Brownie Points or Teddy Bear to get it to apply evenly and be blendable. In comparison to shade like Hashtag, the formula is very dry and off.

In contrast, the glittery shades in the palette such as Toffee and Cranberry Splash are so pigmented and buttery. They feel like a similar formula to the Makeup Geek Foiled Shadows, and give the same sort of colour pay off.

I feel like this palette is only a buy if you are very into makeup and the hyped/cult products in my opinion, purely because of the quality of some shades for the price point and because of how difficult it is to get hold of.

Ben Nye – Fair Translucent Powder £6.10 (1.5oz)

img_5752

At one point there was a massive hype surrounding the Ben Nye Banana Powder for setting the under eye area. I personally hated the yellow under eye trend, so bought the Ben Nye Fair Translucent Powder, which was also part of my course kit. Recently I have seen this particular shade on a lot of Instagram videos so I thought I’d give my thoughts on this shade. I can’t stand this powder,

I can’t stand this powder, I find that it sits on the skin and makes the face look cakey. This powder also feels chalky in comparison to a lot of other loose powders; it’s not too chalky but if you rub some between your fingers it does have a slightly chalky/gritty feel to it. It could be more finely milled. I have been thinking of buying the neutral set which is totally colourless and trying that one to see if it’s any different on the skin. Ben Nye do have other products that I use and love it’s just this particular product doesn’t work for me, so this product is a Bye.

It is available here for anyone wanting to try it out! – here

They are all the products I am sharing my thoughts on in this Buy or Bye, please let me know if this post is something I should continue as a series. See you soon! B x

Leave a Reply

